Weather Icon

Historic Preservation Commission

Historic Preservation Commission

The purpose of the Historic Preservation Commission is to contribute to the promotion of the educational, cultural, economic and general welfare of Alabama municipalities; through the preservation and protection of buildings, sites, structures, areas and districts of historic significance and interest; through the preservation and enhancement of the national, state and local historic, architectural, archeological and aesthetic heritage found in Alabama; and through the promotion and enhancement of Alabama's historic and aesthetic attraction to tourists and visitors. 

Members are individuals who, per Section 11-68-3 subsections (a) and (b) of the Code of Alabama, shall have demonstrated training or experience in the fields of history, architecture, architectural history, urban planning, archaeology or law, or who shall be residents of an historic district designated pursuant to that ordinance. Members of the commission shall be bona fide residents of Montevallo.

The Commission revised the Bylaws and approved them on September 13, 2022. Follow this link to view the Revised Bylaws.

Commission Members 

Kathy King, Chair
Anitka Stewart Sims, Vice Chair  
Janice Seaman 
Sherry Vallides
Susan Godwin
William Glosson
Melinda Nix
Veronica Bailey
Tara Brantley
Kenneth "Kenny" Dukes, City Council Liaison  

Meeting Times

2nd Tuesday, Monthly
6:00 PM
Council Chambers

View Agendas and Minutes


Kathy King

Contact Us